In Florida, Driving with a Suspended or Revoked Driver’s License is serious criminal offense that can have lasting effects on not only your criminal record, but also one’s ability to obtain a valid Florida driver’s license. A charge of Driving with a Suspended Driver’s License may be charged as a felony or misdemeanor.
Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License in Florida
A first offense for Driving with a Suspended License in Florida is classified as a second degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to sixty (60) days in county jail, five (6) months probation, and a $500.00 fine
A second offense for Driving with a Suspended License in Florida is classified as a first degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to one (1) year in county jail, one (1) year probation, and a $1,000.00 fine.
A third and subsequent offense for Driving with a Suspended License in Florida is classified as a third degree felony, which is punishable by up to five (5) years in prison, five (5) years probation, and a $5,000.00 fine.
Reason for a Driver’s License Suspension in Florida
One’s driver’s license can be suspended for a number of different reasons. The following list are the common examples that can result in a driver’s license suspension.
- DUI arrest or conviction;
- Refusal to Submit to a Lawful Breath Sample in a DUI;
- Failure to pay fines or prior traffic tickets;
- Drug related convictions;
- Failure to pay child support;
- Receiving too many points of driving record; and
- Any plea to a Racing on Highway charge
Contact Jacksonville Suspended Drivers License Attorney Michael Rainka
If you have been arrested or charged with Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Florida, including Jacksonville, Duval County, St. Johns, County, Nassau County, Clay County, Flagler County, or Northeast Florida, contact Rainka Law now. Michael Rainka is a skilled and aggressive Jacksonville Suspended Drivers License Attorney and Jacksonville Criminal Defense Lawyer. The initial consultation is always free.